What is ISO 45001:2018?

ISO 45001 is the world’s international standard for Occupational Health and Safety, given to protect employees and visitors from work-related accidents and diseases. The ISO 45001 certification was developed to minimize any factors that could cause irreparable damage to employees and businesses. Its standards are the result of the efforts of a committee of Health and Safety Management experts who have looked closely at many other aspects of system management, including ISO 9001 and ISO 14001. In addition, ISO 45001 was developed to take into account other existing occupations such as health and safety standards such as OHSAS 18001 – as well as ILO labor standards, conventions, and safety guidelines.

Benefits of ISO 20000-1 : 2018 ITSM Certification

Customer Satisfaction and Safety

Meet customer requirements consistently whilst safeguarding their health and property.

Reduced Operating Costs

Less down-time due to incidents and ill health and lower costs from legal fees and compensation means money saved.

Improved Stakeholder Relationship

Make the health and property of staff, customers and suppliers more of a priority and people will respond

Corporate Social Responsibility

Implementation of a structured management system can aid the demonstration of CSR and organizational culture.

Improved Risk Management

Identify potential incidents and implement controls and measures to keep risk as low as possible, protecting employees and customers from harm.

Proven Business Credentials

Independent verification against a globally recognized industry standard speaks volumes.

Check out the HSM Video

Who can be certified ISO 45001:2018

ISO 45001 is right if you and your organization need to demonstrate a commitment to managing the safety of workers and interested parties. If you have already implemented a quality or environmental management system aligned with the Annex SL structure ISO 45001 can be integrated smoothly.

Manufacturing Companies

Chemical Industry

Pharma Industry

Construction Industry

Oil & Gas Industry

Power Junction

Research Foundation


Shipping Industry


Financial Services




Textile and Apparels

Medical and Test Lab

Document required for ISO 45001:2018

  • System Manual
  • System Procedure
  • Policy
  • Objectives
  • Mission & Vision
  • Standard Operating Procedure (SOP)
  • Checklist
  • Forms
  • Formats
  • Records

The extent of Documented Information differs as per:

  • Organization’s size
  • Activities performed by the organization
  • Processes undertaken by the Organization
  • Products and services offered by the organization
  • The complexity of processes undertaken
  • Competence of persons involved

Role of Shamkris and Process of ISO 45001:2018 Certification

Shamkris adopts a results-oriented approach to effective system implementation in the organization. A simple and practical method of system implementation helps organizations increase business efficiency and sustainability. Shamkris supports 100% documentation to obtain a certificate of success in addition to enhanced performance.

The implementation process is described below:

Day 1

GAP Analysis, Certification Body, Selection, Cost Estimates

• Finding the GAP between existing system related to ISO requirements
• Selecting the appropriate certification body
• Based on the scope of your business & certification body you choose

Week 1

Developing Documents

• Management System Manual, Management System Procedures, Policy, Objectives, Forms etc.
• Review of Standard Operating Procedures (SOP)

Week 4

Implementing Management System

• ISO Awareness training for the top management and staff
• Implementing a well-documented management system throughout the organization

Week 8

Internal Audit

• Internal audits identifying nonconformities related to ISO requirements
• Management Review Meetings
• Corrective and Preventive Action plan for nonconformities

Week 10

Certification Body
N-C Closing

• Shamkris acts on your behalf and assists you in the third-party audit
• Closing of any nonconformities identified by the certification body

Week 12

Certificate Issued

• ISO certificates issued for 3 years
• Surveillance Audits yearly

Year on Year

Yearly Compliance

• Support of Yearly documentation for audit

ISO 45001 is an International Standard that specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system, with guidance for its use, to enable an organization to proactively improve its OH&S performance in preventing injury and ill-health.

There are many differences, but the main change is that ISO 45001 concentrates on the interaction between an organization and its business environment while OHSAS 18001 was focused on managing OH&S hazards and other internal issues. … ISO 45001 is process-based – OHSAS 18001 is procedure-based.

ISO 45001:2018 specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system, and gives guidance for its use, to enable organizations to provide safe and healthy workplaces by preventing work-related injury and ill health, as well as by proactively improving its OH&S performance.

Your transition from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001 should be designed to embed health and safety responsibility and engagement as widely as possible.